Metadata and Analytics

UPDF 5 INFANTRY DIVISION [Property context="current" type="content" htmlencode="false" separator="</li><li>" field="categories" start="
  • " end="
"] [Property context="current" type="content" htmlencode="false" separator="</li><li>" field="keywords" start="
  • " end="
"] [Property context="current" type="content" htmlencode="false" separator="</li><li class="">" field="authors" start="
  • " end="
"] [Property context="current" type="content" htmlencode="false" separator="</li><li class="">" field="authors" start="
  • " end="
Brigadier Michael Kabango Commander 5 infantry Division



To defend the territorial integrity of Uganda within its Area of Responsibility, provide security to the population, support civil authority in emergencies, and conduct disarmament in order to sustain the country’s security and development.


5 Infantry Division was formed between June and August 2002, primarily in response to the threats the Lord’s Resistance Army had posed in Northern Uganda. The Division was curved out of 4 Division Area of Responsibility to extend levels of command closer to the enemy. The first 5 Infantry Division Commander was Col (now Lt Gen) Joram Mugume.

The forces that formed the forces were sourced from mainly Bombo military headquarters, women’s wing, task force units built from veterans, Local Defence Units, Amuka group and former Lord’s Resistance Army rebels. Fresh recruits were also trained for this purpose.

The Division Headquarters was first established at corner Kilak, a corridor that the enemy had intended to utilize to cross into the eastern parts of the country, so that he could establish links to the eastern African coast for arms and other supplies.

As the situation changed, the headquarters was shifted to, the then, Agago refugee settlement camp which was occupied by refugees from South Sudan and had become a permanent vulnerable target for frequent rebel attacks.

Finally, the Office of the Prime Minister provided 12 square miles of land to the Ministry of Defence, at Achol Pii, for use to enhance security, and this is where the Division headquarters was established to date.

5 Infantry Division comprises of two Infantry Brigades, affiliated support units and auxiliary.

Other than its main roles, the Division cooperates with other government organs and stakeholders in its area of responsibility to support the execution of government programs for effective service delivery to the people and development of the country

Area of Responsibility

Initially, 5 infantry Division area of responsibility before 2010 covered only the greater Kitgum in Acholi and the whole of Lango sub region. However, having defeated LRA, in 2010, the Division reinforced 3 Division in Karamoja disarmament, taking over Abim, Kotido and Kaabong Districts. To date, the Division’s area of responsibility covers 14 districts; 03 from Karamoja, 04 from Acholi sub region and 07 from Lango sub region.

In Lango sub region it covers Apac, Amolatar, Alebtong, Dokolo, Kole, Lira, and Otuke. In Acholi Sub Region are Agago, Kitgum, Lamwo and Pader: Three are in Karamoja sub region namely; Abim, Kotido and Kabong.

In the north, 5 Infantry Division borders the Republic of South Sudan, Republic of Kenya in the North East, 3 Infantry Division in the South East, Air Defence Division (Nakasongola) in the South and to the west is 4 Infantry Division.


The defeat of Joseph Kony and his LRA rebels in Northern Uganda was a key result area for the rank and file of UPDF soldiers in 5 infantry division and indeed for Uganda and the world. Innumerable  notorious commanders including Tabley were put out of action, many weapons recovered from the rebels, many women, children  and abductees  were rescued, families re united, resettled, and mobilized for production to participate in the economic growth and development currently going on.

2010 onwards, 5 infantry divisions’ involvement in disarmament saw a stop to the vice and protection of the vulnerable civilian population from armed Karimojong warriors and others who rustled their cattle.


 Col (now Lt Gen) Joram Mugume.

Col (now Brig) George Etyang.

Col (now Brig) Lucky Kidega.

Brig Hudson Mukasa.

Col (now Brig) Sam Kavuma.

Brig John Lorot.

Brig. Samuel Kawaga.

Brig Sam Kavuma (second time)

Brig Michael Kabango. (Incumbent).